View free quotes for any vehicle, anywhere compare quotes from the nation's top insurance agencies Choose the policy that fits your lifestyle best

 

Car Insurance Quotes in Mississippi

Mississippi Auto Insurance: Laws and Information

In the state of Mississippi all drivers are required to have at least a 10/20/5 liability insurance plan to legally operate a vehicle. This means that there is $10,000 coverage for a person for a single accident, $20,000 for an accident involving an injury to the body, and $5,000 for an accident that causes property damage to the vehicle. The liability coverage will cover anything that happens in an accident to the other driver and their vehicle or other property. You however will only be compensated up to the restrictions of your liability insurance. Any repair costs or other expenses that go beyond your liability insurance will have to be paid out of your own pocket. With all of the repair fees and soaring costs of medical treatment, you may want to look into getting a policy that offers more than just liability insurance. A car accident can be a costly affair and you don’t want to have to pay thousands of dollars.

There are many other options that you can add to your policy through insurance providers. If you are to opt for medical payments coverage, you won’t have to worry about medical bills you may have after getting injured in a motor vehicle accident. This coverage will cover all parties that are involved in the accident. Collision insurance is another option, and this will cover the amount in full that it takes to fix your vehicle after an accident. Lastly you can add comprehensive coverage to your plan, and this will cover you if your vehicle happens to get stolen.

There are two different websites that you can access if you are looking for more information. These websites are the sites of the Mississippi Department of Insurance and the Mississippi State Tax Commission-Motor Vehicle Listing. Here you will able to find information on all of the insurance laws for the state of Mississippi and any other regulations you are required to follow. You can keep up to date and find any recent changes that may be required for your policies also by monitoring these websites. You can also look up frequent questions and contact the departments about information through these websites.

You will also want to check to make sure that the company that you obtained your policy through is a legitimate insurer and is a legal company in the state of Mississippi. This way you aren’t carrying a fraudulent insurance policy that is illegal and wont provide you any benefits in case of an accident.

The following is the information to contact these websites on line, in person, or via phone:

Mississippi State Tax Commission – Motor Vehicle Licensing
1577 Springridge Road
Raymond, MS 39154-9602
Phone: 601-923-7390 or 601-923-7334

http://www.mstc.state.ms.us/mvl

Mississippi Department of Insurance
1001 Woolfolk State Office Building, 501 N West Street
Jackson, MS 39201
Phone: 601-359-3569

http://www.doi.state.ms.us

 

How to Save on Car Insurance Rates

Online form is simple and secure
Get matched with top insurance providers
Compare rates and choose a provider
 

Car Insurance Glossary

Learn more about car insurance terms