View free quotes for any vehicle, anywhere compare quotes from the nation's top insurance agencies Choose the policy that fits your lifestyle best

 

Car Insurance Quotes in Kansas

Receive a Quote for Kansas Auto Insurance
Kansas auto insurance quotes and rates are provided by a maximum of four leading car insurance providers.

Below is a short list consisting of valuable informational resources that help motorists understand the best methods for receiving automobile insurance in the state of Kansas. Also included in this list are website links for various organizations that provide consumers with useful guides covering topics such as buying automobile insurance and filing accident claims.

Kansas Auto Insurance Laws and Driver Requirements

Kansas’ automobile insurance is based on a no-fault system. For example, when a driver is involved in a driving accident, every involved driver’s insurance company is required to pay their policy holder’s medical bills, reimburse them for lost wages, and compensate them for miscellaneous financial losses no matter who is determined to be the at-fault driver.

The driving laws in Kansas also require drivers to buy uninsured/inadequately insured driver coverage.

25/50/10 liability insurance
$10,000/accident for property damage liability
$50,000/accident
$25,000/person bodily injury liability.

Personal injury protection, also known as no-fault or PIP insurance, is also mandatory for insured drivers in Kansas. Compulsory personal injury protection coverage for Kansas motorists consists of the following coverage amounts.

$4,500 for medical expenses per person
$900 each month to cover income loss stemming from injuries sustained in an accident
$2,000 to be used for burial, cremation, and other funeral services
$4,500 for rehabilitation therapy
$900 each month for survivor benefits
$25 per day to offset the cost of in-home medical care.

Insurance advisers recommend drivers in Kansas buy extra coverage in order to close the gap between minimum insurance requirements and the actual total costs stemming for a car accident. There are a few companies that provide customers with larger PIP benefits. Although comprehensive and collision car insurance are optional for Kansas drivers, most lenders will not qualify customers for an auto loan without these coverage selections.

Kansas DMV and Department of Revenue

The DMV of Kansas supplies drivers with information pertaining to obtaining, renewing, and making an address change for a driver’s license. The DMV also logs every license holder’s driving records in order to restrict, suspend, revoke, and reinstate driving privileges when necessary. Other duties include overseeing vehicle registrations, rectifying car and trailer title problems, maintaining registration and title records, and monitoring Kansas auto dealers. Further information – driving statistics, forms, policy library, and publications – can be obtained directly via the DMV of Kansas.

915 Southwest Harrison St.
Topeka, Kan. 66612
Telephone: 785-296-3621
Website: http://www.ksrevenue.org/dmv.htm

Kansas Insurance Department

Kansas’ Insurance Department now has an informational website for drivers who are shopping for all insurance types. The information shown on this website encompasses car insurance requirements as well as where to obtain discounts and purchase health, life, long-term care, renter’s, and homeowner’s insurance. Their site also serves as a place to compare insurance rates, review consumer complaints regarding individual insurance companies, and lodge complaints. Senior citizens receive the added benefit of Medicare and senior insurance resources.

420 Southwest 9th St.
Topeka, Kan. 66612-1678
Telephone: 785-296-3071
Website: http://www.ksinsurance.org

 

How to Save on Car Insurance Rates

Online form is simple and secure
Get matched with top insurance providers
Compare rates and choose a provider
 

Car Insurance Glossary

Learn more about car insurance terms