View free quotes for any vehicle, anywhere compare quotes from the nation's top insurance agencies Choose the policy that fits your lifestyle best


Car Insurance Quotes in Georgia

The lists below contain a number of important sources of information that will better inform you about securing car insurance in Georgia. There are links to organizations that have beneficial guides on such subjects as how to purchase auto insurance, procedures for filing claims, and much more.

Georgia Car Insurance Laws

In order to drive on highways and public roads in Georgia, consumers are required to have no less than the minimum legally mandated automobile liability insurance. By Georgia law, the minimum liability limits are:

Bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person with $50,000 per occurrence
Property damage liability of $25,000 per occurrence.

When you are the insured, liability insurance pays for damages to other parties on your behalf. It will pay up to the policy limit for claims made against you for injuries or property damages. The policy can also include Uninsured Motorist Insurance. Uninsured Motorist coverage protects you when the other driver is uninsured and causes an accident which damages your vehicle or injures you or your passengers. While the law does not require Uninsured Motorist coverage, this insurance will protect the policyholder’s losses or damages that might occur in an accident with an uninsured driver.

Georgia law does not require collision and comprehensive coverage, but the lender (bank or finance company) will require this coverage when there is a loan on the vehicle, or the leasing company will require it when the vehicle is leased.

Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Safety (GDMVS)
2206 East View Parkway, Post Office Box 80447
Conyers, GA 30013
Phone: 678-413-8650

The Georgia DMV website has numerous resources and useful consumer links for Georgia residents. Their services online include renewals for Driver’s License and ID Cards, Georgia electronic insurance compliance system, tag renewals and motor vehicle reports. The website has very specific information covering such motor vehicle services as salvage information, registration, car titles, dealer information, insurance information and additional Georgia DMV information. Car owners are able to check the insurance status of their vehicle online by putting in the VIN number and Title number. The website also includes very helpful information about the Georgia Driver Education Program, Driver Improvement Clinics, Electronic Citation Processing system and has manuals and forms that can be downloaded.

Georgia Insurance Office and Safety Fire Commissioner
Two Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, West Tower, Suite 704
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Phone: 800-656-2298

The Georgia department of insurance administers the regulated insurance business and endeavors to protect Georgia consumers. Its website has an interactive quiz for consumers to test their insurance knowledge and provide tips to learn more about their insurance coverage. There are help sections and links dedicated to each type of insurance such as home, health, disability, life, auto and special insurance assistance for seniors.

Consumers can get information on auto rate comparisons, see complaints about various auto insurance companies and find answers regarding auto insurance on the FAQ’s.
The website has a separate section which contains helpful resources for insurance agents. Agents are able to review their status, download forms, order sample exam preparation tests, find examination locations and much more.

Georgia Car Insurance News and Information

Georgia to fine motorists for expired auto insurance

Georgia will begin to impose fines on state registered motorists who do not have valid car insurance for their vehicles. The fines will start at $25 for the first offense, $60 for the second and auto registration will be revoked on the third offense. According to Georgia auto insurance law, all drivers must have liability insurance coverage. It is a misdemeanor to drive without liability coverage and carries a punishment of a $1,000 fine and up to a year in jail. Georgia motorists can check with the Georgia DMV to review the status of their insurance.


How to Save on Car Insurance Rates

Online form is simple and secure
Get matched with top insurance providers
Compare rates and choose a provider

Car Insurance Glossary

Learn more about car insurance terms